This page last updated April 30, 2008
upper left   hours
Home Policies News & Events Reference catalog

 

Reference Home

Calendar

Kids' Reference

 

 

 

 

 

Databases

 

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts--and often either the full text of the articles indexed, or links to the full text. They make great sources for recent information.

The State gives us access to more than 20 different databases, as linked below. The most popular are probably MasterFile Premier and Academic Search Premier. To use them, you will be prompted for a user name and password- Please email us or call us at 585-6503 for these. You only need to get them once, and then you will be able to keep using the system.

 

Services:

Quicklinks:

 

Resources Databases Audience
Newspapers The Union Leader & New Hampshire Sunday News
The full-text of the daily newspaper since 1989.
Young Adult and Up
The Concord Monitor
The full-text of the daily newspaper since 2002.
Young Adult and Up
Newspaper Source
Provides full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns as well as other sources. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
Young Adult and Up
Go to Top
Magazines & General Reference MasterFile Premier
Provides full text for over 1,900 periodicals covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.
Young Adult and Up
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 3,600 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Adult
MAS Ultra: School Edition
Provides full text for over 515 general interest and current events magazines.
Young Adult and Up
Middle Search Plus
Provides full text for over 145 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and jr. high school students.
Children's and Up
Primary Search
Provides full text for 57 children’s magazines and over 100 children’s pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student.
Children's and Up
TOPICsearch
Explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. This current events database includes more than 400,000 full-text articles selected by teachers and librarians, an online dictionary, and more than 2,500 diverse reference sources including newspapers, biographies, opinion polls, book reviews and government information.
Children's and Up
Searchasaurus
A colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students. It includes Primary Search and Middle Search Plus as well as EBSCO Animals and Funk and Wagnell's New World Encyclopedia.
Children's and Up
Best of the Internet
A resource compiled and maintained by librarians at the New Hampshire State Library. Its purpose is to aid New Hampshire librarians, media specialists, teachers and the general public locate quality information on the Internet.
Children's and Up
Go to Top
Books, Periodicals & Other Materials WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus.
Adults
NoveList
A reader's advisory service that provides information and resources on over 100,000 titles, 75,000 full-text reviews, and more than 36,000 subject headings to help locate the best in fiction.
Middle School and Up
NoveList (K-8)
A reader's advisory service that specifically targets children and young adults. It contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles..
Preschool and Up
NHU-PAC
A union catalog that contains the holdings of the State Library as well as more than 300 public, school and special libraries in the state. In most instances, the records in the NHU-PAC reflect only those titles acquired by a library since the mid-1980s.
Young Adult and Up
Go to Top
Business Resources Business Source Premier
Provides full text for over 1,100 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more.
Young Adult and Up
Go to Top
Genealogy, History & Biography Ancestry Library
Provides instant access to more than 1 billion names, more than 3,000 databases, primary-source document images and a variety of genealogical research features including 450 million census records from the U.S. Federal Census between the years 1790 and 1930. In addition, AncestryPlus includes immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records; city directories; genealogical societies; Social Security Death Index; Periodical Source Index; family history library; and much more.
Young Adult and Up
Biography Resource Center
A comprehensive online biographical reference database with over 400,000 biographies covering literature, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, arts and newsmakers.
Young Adult and Up
HeritageQuest Online
With over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, PERSI™, and other expanding collections, HeritageQuest Online provides access to one of the largest collections of genealogy material in the country. This collection of research materials helps in tracing family history and studying American culture.
Young Adult and Up
Go to Top
Health Resources Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Contains full text for nearly 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Young Adult and Up
Go to Top
Professional Development Professional Development Collection
Provides a highly specialized collection of over 515 full text journals, designed for professional educators.
Adult
ERIC
The Educational Resource Information Center contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Adult
Go to Top

All NHewLINK Databases

   
 
 
   
 
NHewLINK is funded by the New Hampshire State Library.
Additional grant funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act
administered by the New Hampshire State Librarian.
NH State Seal
Copyright (c) State of New Hampshire, 2007